Faculty & Staff

Dean's Office

David W. Cash
Dean and Associate Professor, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5511
david.cash@umb.edu

Science and policy, Energy and environmental policy

Rita Kiki Edozie
Professor of Global Governance, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance, and Associate Dean, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7231
RitaKiki.Edozie@umb.edu

African affairs and politics, global development, comparative democratization, international relations, international political economy, race and identity

Carlos Henriquez
Assistant Dean for Budget and Operations, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6937
carlos.henriquez@umb.edu



Rashelle A. Straker
Director of Academic Programs and Events, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5837
rashelle.straker@umb.edu

Elizabeth Diaz
Executive Assistant to the Dean, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5556
elizabeth.diaz@umb.edu



Christopher Brindley
IT Specialist, McCormack Graduate School

617.857.9351
christopher.brindley@umb.edu



Jamie Tull
College Business Coordinator, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5536
jamie.tull@umb.edu

Robert Turner
Research Fellow, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5579
robert.turner@umb.edu

Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance

Stacy D. VanDeveer
Professor and Chair, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
stacy.vandeveer@umb.edu

Global resources and energy politics, global environmental and resource governance, comparative politics, European Union, environmental change, human security

J. Samuel Barkin
Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
Samuel.Barkin@umb.edu

International relations theory and international organization, with particular attention to global environmental politics, international monetary politics, theories of sovereignty, and constructivist theory

Rita Kiki Edozie
Professor of Global Governance, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance, and Associate Dean, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7231
RitaKiki.Edozie@umb.edu

African affairs and politics, global development, comparative democratization, international relations, international political economy, race and identity

Maria Ivanova
Associate Professor of Global Governance and Graduate Program Director, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
Maria.Ivanova@umb.edu

Global governance, environmental law and policy, multilateral environmental agreements, climate change, Sustainable Development Goals, US foreign environmental policy, international organizations, science-policy interface, United Nations reform, sustainability on campuses and in organizations.

Susan Jeghelian
Executive Director, Massachusetts Office of Public Collaboration, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.4047
susan.jeghelian@umb.edu

Darren Kew
Associate Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
Darren.Kew@umb.edu

Civil society and transnational civil society development; international security and crisis intervention in Africa; conflict resolution efforts as grassroots approaches to promoting democracy, conflict, and democracy in Africa (especially Nigeria); culture and religion, international negotiation, nation-building

Paul Kowert
Associate Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts and Graduate Program Director of Global Governance and Human Security and International Relations

617.287.6942
Paul.Kowert@umb.edu

International relations theory, U.S.-Japan relations, foreign policy analysis, political psychology, research design

Mette Kreutzmann
Program Manager-Business Manager, Massachusetts Office of Public Collaboration, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.4041
mette.kreutzmann@umb.edu



Padraig O’Malley
John Joseph Moakley Distinguished Professor of Peace and Reconciliation, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5550
padraig.omalley@umb.edu



David E. Matz
Professor Emeritus, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
David.Matz@umb.edu

Strategies for Practitioners to Build Trust in Conflict Situations, the Integration of Mediation into Organizational and Judicial Systems, Arab-Israeli Negotiations, Sharing Jerusalem

Leigh Murphy
Program Manager, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7362
leigh.murphy@umb.edu



Charlotte Nnambi
Administrative Assistant I, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
charlotte.nnambi@umb.edu

Madhawa Palihapitiya
Associate Director, Massachusetts Office of Public Collaboration, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.4036
madhawa.palihapitiya@umb.edu

Jeffrey Pugh
Assistant Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
Jeffrey.Pugh@umb.edu

Peace and Conflict Studies , International Studies , Latin American Politics, Institutions (Political Science) , Refugee Studies, Migration Studies , Social Movements

Karen Ross
Assistant Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
Karen.Ross@umb.edu

Peace education, dialogue, research methodology, grassroots peace-building, social movements

Courtenay Sprague
Associate Professor of Global Health, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School and College of Nursing and Health Sciences

617.287.7489
Courtenay.Sprague@umb.edu

Health equity, HIV, social constructions of health and illness, gender health inequalities, qualitative research methods.

Kelly Ward Mason
Program Manager, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
kelly.ward@umb.edu



Eben Weitzman
Associate Professor and Graduate Program Director, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7238
Eben.Weitzman@umb.edu

Organizational Conflict, Intra-group Conflict in Mediation, Cultural Differences in Attitudes toward Conflict, Effects of Cooperation and Competition on Small Group Processes, Computer-aided Data Analysis in Qualitative Research

Department of Gerontology

Jeffrey Burr
Professor and Chair, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7318
jeffrey.burr@umb.edu

Social demography of aging, household composition and living arrangements, race and ethnicity in aging populations, labor force participation in later life, productive activity in later life, aging and health

Carolyne Arnold
Associate Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7236
carolyne.arnold@umb.edu

Public Health

Ellen Birchander
Graduate Program Director and Clinical Assistant Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7338
ellen.birchander@umb.edu

health and physical aspects of aging, social aspects of aging, psychology of aging

Kathrin Boerner
Associate Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7348
Kathrin.Boerner@umb.edu

adult development and aging, coping with chronic illness, end-of-life, bereavement

Michele Campbell
Graduate Program Administrator, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7302
michele.campbell@umb.edu



Marc Cohen
Co-Director, LeadingAge LTSS Center @UMass Boston; Clinical Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7306
Marc.Cohen@umb.edu

Financing Long-Term Services and Supports, Private Long-Term Care Insurance, Fall Prevention, Service Utilization patterns of Disabled Elders, Family Caregiving, Care Management and Care Transitions, Managing Long-Term Services and Supports Populations

Elizabeth Dugan
Associate Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7382
beth.dugan@umb.edu

Older drivers and state policy, healthy aging, psychological outcomes

Len Fishman
Director, Gerontology Institute, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7327
Len.Fishman@umb.edu

Martin Hansen-Verma
Manager of Marketing, Recruitment, Enrollment & Retention, McCormack Graduate School

N/A
martin.hansen@umb.edu

James Hermelbracht
Director, Osher Lifelong Learning Institute, UMass Boston, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7090
james.hermelbracht@umb.edu

Kyungmin Kim
Assistant Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.4059
kyungmin.kim@umb.edu

Intergenerational relations in later years, support exchanges between generations, family caregiving

Edward Alan Miller
Professor and Graduate Program Director, Department of Gerontology and Public Policy PhD Program; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7313
edward.miller@umb.edu

Aging and Long-term Care, Intergovernmental Relations, Program Implementation and Evaluation, Medicaid, Telemedicine and e-health

Jan Mutchler
Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7321
Jan.Mutchler@umb.edu

Diversity in aging populations, intergenerational support in later life, health disparities in later life, economic security, the social demography of aging populations, age-friendly communities

Pamela Nadash
Associate Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7342
pamela.nadash@umb.edu

Long term care policy, comparative health policy, consumer choice in health and long term supportive services, integrated care models

Nina Silverstein
Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7317
Nina.Silverstein@umb.edu

Qian Song
Assistant Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7278
qian.song@umb.edu

Migration and health of older adults, life course approach, living arrangements and well-being, work and later life, institutional discrimination and health outcomes

Jeffrey Stokes
Assistant Professor of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7239
jeffrey.stokes@umb.edu

Marriage and family, aging and life course, health and well-being, neighborhood effects, bereavement

Anna-Marie Tabor
Director and Managing Attorney, Pension Action Center (PAC), McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7332
annamarie.tabor@umb.edu

Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs

Michael Johnson
Professor and Chair, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6967
michael.johnson@umb.edu

Management science planning models for public-sector facility location and service delivery, with applications to assisted housing and senior services

Michael Ahn
Associate Professor, MPA Graduate Program Director, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.651.1942
Michael.Ahn@umb.edu

E-Government, Government 3.0, Public Management, Public Administration Education, International Comparative Public Administration, Quantitative and Qualitative Research Methods

Christine Thurlow Brenner
Associate Professor, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6977
christine.brenner@umb.edu

Immigration policy, urban affairs, public budgeting

David W. Cash
Dean and Associate Professor, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5511
david.cash@umb.edu

Science and policy, Energy and environmental policy

Susan R. Crandall
Director, Center for Social Policy and Clinical Professor, Public Policy and Public Affairs

617.287.5565
Susan.Crandall@umb.edu

Community Development, Workforce Development, Employer Systems, Cliff Effects, Evaluation

Simon Haile
Graduate Program Administrator, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6905
simon.haile@umb.edu



Christa Kelleher
Director of Policy and Research, Center for Women in Politics & Public Policy, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5530
Christa.Kelleher@umb.edu

Identifying, analyzing, and promoting public policies that improve the conditions of women’s lives; advancing women’s public leadership; state and local policy development

Muna Killingback
Assistant Program Director, Gender, Leadership, and Public Policy, McCormack Graduate School

N/A
muna.killingback@umb.edu

Heather MacIndoe
Associate Professor, Graduate Program Director, Public Policy PhD Program, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.4861
Heather.Macindoe@umb.edu

Nonprofit Organizations, Philanthropy, Public and Private Funding for Social Services, Organizational Theory

Aroon P. Manoharan
Associate Professor, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5935
Aroon.Manoharan@umb.edu

E-Government, Performance Measurement, Strategic Planning, Public Management, and Comparative Public Administration

Laurie Nsiah-Jefferson
Interim Director, Center for Women in Politics and Public Policy; Graduate Program Director, Gender, Leadership, and Public Policy Graduate Certificate Program; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5554
LA.NsiahJefferson@umb.edu

Intersectionality, Social and Health Policy, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Robert O’Keefe
Director of Operations, Edward J. Collins, Jr. Center for Public Management, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6226
robert.okeefe@umb.edu



Amit Patel
Assistant Professor, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6938
Amit.Patel@umb.edu

Urban Poverty, Health Disparities, Statistical and Simulation Methods, GIS

Melissa Quashie
Graduate Program Administrator, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5543
melissa.quashie@umb.edu



Amy E. Smith
Associate Professor, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6975
amye.smith@umb.edu

Public Management, Gender and Diversity, Careers in Public Service, Work-Life Balance, Teaching and Mentoring in Graduate Education

Michael Ward
Executive Director, Edward J. Collins, Jr. Center for Public Management, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.4876
michael.ward@umb.edu



Mark R. Warren
Professor, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6948
Mark.Warren@umb.edu

Community organizing, education reform, race and racial justice, faith-based initiatives

Christian Weller
Professor, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6938
christian.weller@umb.edu

Private Pensions, Social Security, Retirement Income Security, Wealth Inequality and Asset Development, Financial Institutions, International Economic Development