Faculty

Paul Kowert
Associate Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts and International Relations Master's Program Director

617.287.6942
Paul.Kowert@umb.edu

International Relations Theory, U.S.-Japan Relations, Foreign Policy Analysis, Political Psychology, Research Design

J. Samuel Barkin
Professor and Chair, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
Samuel.Barkin@umb.edu

International Relations Theory and International Organization, with particular attention to Global Environmental Politics, International Monetary Politics, Theories of Sovereignty, and Constructivist Theory

Joseph M. Brown
Assistant Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6928
Joseph.Brown@umb.edu

International Relations, Peace and Conflict Studies, Non-State Actors, Signaling, Research Methods

Leila Farsakh
Chair and Associate Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6932
leila.farsakh@umb.edu

Middle East Politics, Comparative Politics, Politics of the Arab-Israeli Conflict

Maria Ivanova
Associate Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
Maria.Ivanova@umb.edu

Global governance, resilience and fragility, international organizations, science-policy interface, environmental conventions, climate change governance, United States foreign environmental policy, United Nations reform, sustainability on campuses and in organizations, Sustainable Development Goals

Luis F. Jiménez
Assistant Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-6940
Luis.Jimenez@umb.edu

Latin American Politics, Mexican Politics, Immigration Politics, Latino Politics

Michelle Jurkovich
Assistant Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6993
Michelle.Jurkovich@umb.edu

Politics of Food Security, Economic and Social Rights, Transnational Activism, International Organizations, Non-governmental Organizations

Jerome Klassen
Associate Lecturer in International Relations; Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
jerome.klassen@umb.edu

International Relations, Political Economy, US Grand Strategy, Canadian Foreign Policy, Development Economics, Corporate Network Analysis, Social Movements

Michael Keating
Lecturer; Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617-287-5550
michael.keating@umb.edu

Media and Communications in Development, Communities and Conflict, Role of China in Africa, Tertiary Education in Africa, Democracy Building in Fragile States

Margaret P. Karns
Visiting Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance, McCormack Graduate School

617-287-7489
margaret.karns@umb.edu

International Politics, International Organizations and Global Governance, the United Nations System, Foreign Policy Analysis, U.S. Foreign Policy and Multilateral Institutions, Post-conflict Peacebuilding and Women and leadership in Global Governance

Adugna Lemi
Department Chair and Associate Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6962
adugna.lemi@umb.edu

International Trade and Finance, Multinational Corporations, Development Economics, International Political Economy, Poverty and Income Dynamics

Craig N. Murphy
Faculty Fellow, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
craig.murphy@umb.edu

International Governance by both Public and Private Institutions, Global Inequalities (based on Region, Occupational Class, Gender, and Race), Global Political Economy of Development and Underdevelopment, United Nations Reform, The Role of Great Powers in the United Nations, Globalization, International Relations Theory, The Use of Ethnographic and Historical Methods in Global Studies

Malcolm Russell-Einhorn
Lecturer in International Relations; Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.352.4007
m.russell-einhorn@umb.edu

International Relations, International Development (Governance and Economic Development), Comparative Public Administration, Comparative Law

Courtenay Sprague
Associate Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School and College of Nursing and Health Sciences

617-287-4596
Courtenay.Sprague@umb.edu

Health equity, HIV, social constructions of health and illness, gender health inequalities, qualitative research methods

Ursula Tafe
Senior Lecturer of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6922
ursula.tafe@umb.edu

International Organization, Democratic Peace Theory

Stacy D. VanDeveer
Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School and Global Governance and Human Security PhD Program Director

617.287.4135
stacy.vandeveer@umb.edu

global resources and energy politics, global environmental and resource governance, comparative politics, European Union, environmental change, human security