Faculty

Paul Kowert
Associate Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts and Director of the Global Governance and Human Security and International Relations master's programs

617.287.6942
Paul.Kowert@umb.edu

International relations theory, U.S.-Japan relations, foreign policy analysis, political psychology, research design

J. Samuel Barkin
Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
Samuel.Barkin@umb.edu

International relations theory and international organization, with particular attention to global environmental politics, international monetary politics, theories of sovereignty, and constructivist theory

Joseph M. Brown
Assistant Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6901
Joseph.Brown@umb.edu

International Relations, Peace and Conflict Studies, Non-State Actors, Signaling, Research Methods

Leila Farsakh
Chair and Associate Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6932
leila.farsakh@umb.edu

Middle East Politics, Comparative Politics, Politics of the Arab-Israeli Conflict

Stacy D. VanDeveer
Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School and Global Governance and Human Security PhD Program Director

617.287.4135
stacy.vandeveer@umb.edu

global resources and energy politics, global environmental and resource governance, comparative politics, European Union, environmental change, human security

Maria Ivanova
Associate Professor Global Governance, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
Maria.Ivanova@umb.edu

Global governance, environmental law and policy, multilateral environmental agreements, climate change, Sustainable Development Goals, US foreign environmental policy, international organizations, science-policy interface, United Nations reform, sustainability on campuses and in organizations.

Rita Kiki Edozie
Professor of Global Governance, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance, and Associate Dean, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7231
RitaKiki.Edozie@umb.edu

African affairs and politics, global development, comparative democratization, international relations, international political economy, race and identity

Luis F. Jiménez
Associate Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6940
Luis.Jimenez@umb.edu

Latin American politics, Mexican politics, immigration politics, Latino politics

Michelle Jurkovich
Assistant Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6993
Michelle.Jurkovich@umb.edu

Food security, economic and social rights, ethics, international organizations, nongovernmental organizations

Jerome Klassen
Associate Lecturer in International Relations; Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

6172875000
jerome.klassen@umb.edu

International relations, political economy, U.S. grand strategy, Canadian foreign policy, development economics, corporate network analysis, social movements

Darren Kew
Executive Director of the Center for Peace, Democracy, and Development; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7428
Darren.Kew@umb.edu

Civil Society and Transnational Civil Society Development, International Security and Crisis Intervention in Africa, Conflict Resolution Efforts as Grassroots Approaches to Promoting Democracy, Conflict and Democracy in Africa (especially Nigeria), Culture and Religion, International Negotiation, Nation-building

David E. Matz
Professor Emeritus, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
David.Matz@umb.edu

Strategies for Practitioners to Build Trust in Conflict Situations, the Integration of Mediation into Organizational and Judicial Systems, Arab-Israeli Negotiations, Sharing Jerusalem

Margaret P. Karns
Visiting Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance, McCormack Graduate School

617-287-7489
margaret.karns@umb.edu

International Politics; International Organizations and Global Governance; the United Nations System; Women in Leadership in Global Governance

Adugna Lemi
Department Chair and Associate Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6962
adugna.lemi@umb.edu

International Trade and Finance, Multinational Corporations, Development Economics, International Political Economy, Poverty and Income Dynamics

Craig N. Murphy
Faculty Fellow, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
craig.murphy@umb.edu

International Governance by both Public and Private Institutions, Global Inequalities (based on Region, Occupational Class, Gender, and Race), Global Political Economy of Development and Underdevelopment, United Nations Reform, The Role of Great Powers in the United Nations, Globalization, International Relations Theory, The Use of Ethnographic and Historical Methods in Global Studies

Malcolm Russell-Einhorn
Lecturer in International Relations, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; Lecturer in Comparative Public Administration, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.352.4007
m.russell-einhorn@umb.edu

International relations, international development (governance and economic development), comparative public administration, comparative law, administrative justice, rule of law, anti-corruption, regulatory reform, legislative development

Courtenay Sprague
Associate Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security, and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School and College of Nursing and Health Sciences.

617.287.7489
Courtenay.Sprague@umb.edu

Health equity, HIV, social constructions of health and illness, gender health inequalities, qualitative research methods.

Ursula Tafe
Senior Lecturer of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6922
ursula.tafe@umb.edu

International Organization, Democratic Peace Theory

Jeffrey Pugh
Assistant Professor, Department of Conflict Resolution, Human Security and Global Governance; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7489
Jeffrey.Pugh@umb.edu

Peace and Conflict Studies , International Studies , Latin American Politics, Institutions (Political Science) , Refugee Studies, Migration Studies , Social Movements

Shuai Jin
Assistant Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6933
Shuai.Jin@umb.edu

Comparative Politics, Economic Inequality and Redistribution, Chinese Politics, Public Opinion, Quantitative Methods

Paul Watanabe
Director of the Institute for Asian American Studies and Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.5652
Paul.Watanabe@umb.edu

American Foreign Policy, American Political Behavior, Ethnic Group Politics, and Asian Americans