Faculty

Study with experienced faculty and practitioners in one of the oldest and largest gerontology departments in the world.

Carolyne Arnold
Associate Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7236
carolyne.arnold@umb.edu

Public Health

Kathrin Boerner
Associate Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7348
Kathrin.Boerner@umb.edu

adult development and aging, coping with chronic illness, end-of-life, bereavement

Jeffrey Burr
Professor and Chair, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7318
jeffrey.burr@umb.edu

Social demography of aging, household composition and living arrangements, race and ethnicity in aging populations, labor force participation in later life, productive activity in later life, aging and health

Elizabeth Dugan
Associate Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7382
beth.dugan@umb.edu

Older drivers and state policy, healthy aging, psychological outcomes

Len Fishman
Director, Gerontology Institute, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7327
Len.Fishman@umb.edu

Edward Alan Miller
Professor and Graduate Program Director, Department of Gerontology and Public Policy PhD Program; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7313
edward.miller@umb.edu

Aging and Long-term Care, Intergovernmental Relations, Program Implementation and Evaluation, Medicaid, Telemedicine and e-health

Jan Mutchler
Professor of Gerontology

617.287.7321
Jan.Mutchler@umb.edu

Diversity in aging populations; intergenerational support in later life; economic security; the social demography of aging populations; age friendly communities.

Pamela Nadash
Associate Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7342
pamela.nadash@umb.edu

Long term care policy, comparative health policy, consumer choice in health and long term supportive services, integrated care models

Nina Silverstein
Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7317
Nina.Silverstein@umb.edu

Qian Song
Assistant Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7278
qian.song@umb.edu

Migration and health of older adults, life course approach, living arrangements and well-being, work and later life, institutional discrimination and health outcomes

Jeffrey Stokes
Assistant Professor of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7239
jeffrey.stokes@umb.edu

Marriage and family, aging and life course, health and well-being, neighborhood effects, bereavement