Faculty

Study with experienced faculty and practitioners in one of the oldest and largest gerontology departments in the world.

Carolyne Arnold
Associate Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7236
carolyne.arnold@umb.edu

Public Health

Kathrin Boerner
Professor and Doctoral Program Director, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7348
Kathrin.Boerner@umb.edu

adult development and aging, coping with chronic illness, end-of-life, bereavement

Jeffrey Burr
Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7318
jeffrey.burr@umb.edu

Social demography of aging, household composition and living arrangements, race and ethnicity in aging populations, labor force participation in later life, productive activity in later life, aging and health

Elizabeth Dugan
Associate Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7382
beth.dugan@umb.edu

Older drivers and state policy, healthy aging, psychological outcomes

Edward Alan Miller
Professor and Chair, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7313
edward.miller@umb.edu

Aging and Long-term Care, Intergovernmental Relations, Program Implementation and Evaluation, Medicaid, Telemedicine and e-health

Jan Mutchler
Director, Gerontology Institute

617.287.7321
Jan.Mutchler@umb.edu

Diversity in aging populations; intergenerational support in later life; economic security; the social demography of aging populations; age friendly communities.

Pamela Nadash
Associate Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7342
pamela.nadash@umb.edu

Long term care policy, comparative health policy, consumer choice in health and long term supportive services, integrated care models

Nina Silverstein
Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7317
Nina.Silverstein@umb.edu

Expertise: Transportation and aging, Alzheimer’s disease, Age-Friendly Universities, Healthy aging

Qian Song
Assistant Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7278
qian.song@umb.edu

Social Determinants of Health, Older Adults, Migration, Life Course Approach, Living Arrangements and Well-being, Work and Later Life, Institutional Discrimination and Health Outcomes

Jeffrey Stokes
Assistant Professor of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7239
jeffrey.stokes@umb.edu

Marriage and family, aging and life course, health and well-being, neighborhood effects, bereavement

Danielle Waldron
Lecturer, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

508.851.0530
dwaldron@stonehill.edu

Health, healthcare, and social experiences of adults and older adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities (I/DD); Adults and older adults on the autism spectrum

Jaqueline Contrera Avila
Assistant Professor, Department of Gerontology, McCormack Graduate School

N/A
Jaqueline.Avila@umb.edu

Social determinants of older adult health, tobacco-related disparities among older adults, cross-national comparisons of health and aging