Faculty

Departmental Faculty

Michael Ahn
Associate Professor, Graduate Program Director, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.651.1942
Michael.Ahn@umb.edu

E-Government, Government 3.0, Public Management, Public Administration Education, International Comparative Public Administration, Quantitative and Qualitative Research Methods

Christine Thurlow Brenner
Associate Professor, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6977
christine.brenner@umb.edu

Immigration policy, urban affairs, public budgeting

David W. Cash
Dean and Associate Professor, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5511
david.cash@umb.edu

Science and policy, Energy and environmental policy

Connie S. Chan
Professor Emerita, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5550
connie.chan@umb.edu

Mental health policy, racial and ethnic health disparities, ethics

Susan R. Crandall
Director, Center for Social Policy and Clinical Professor, Public Policy and Public Affairs

617.287.5565
Susan.Crandall@umb.edu

Community Development, Workforce Development, Employer Systems, Cliff Effects, Evaluation

Michael Johnson
Professor and Chair, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6967
michael.johnson@umb.edu

Management science planning models for public-sector facility location and service delivery, with applications to assisted housing and senior services

Heather MacIndoe
Associate Professor, Graduate Program Director, Public Policy PhD Program, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.4861
Heather.Macindoe@umb.edu

Nonprofit Organizations, Philanthropy, Public and Private Funding for Social Services, Organizational Theory

Aroon P. Manoharan
Associate Professor, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5935
Aroon.Manoharan@umb.edu

E-Government, Performance Measurement, Strategic Planning, Public Management, and Comparative Public Administration

Laurie Nsiah-Jefferson
Interim Director of Center for Women in Politics and Public Policy; Interim Director of the Gender, Leadership, and Public Policy Graduate Certificate Program

617.287.5554
LA.NsiahJefferson@umb.edu

Intersectionality, Social and Health Policy, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Amit Patel
Assistant Professor, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6938
Amit.Patel@umb.edu

Urban Poverty, Health Disparities, Statistical and Simulation Methods, GIS

Gary Siperstein
Professor Emeritus, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7250
Gary.Siperstein@umb.edu

Social relationships and social development of children with disabilities

Amy E. Smith
Associate Professor, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6975
amye.smith@umb.edu

Public Management, Gender and Diversity, Careers in Public Service, Work-Life Balance, Teaching and Mentoring in Graduate Education

Mark R. Warren
Professor, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6948
Mark.Warren@umb.edu

Community organizing, Education reform, Race and racial justice, Faith-based initiatives

Christian Weller
Professor, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6938
christian.weller@umb.edu

Private Pensions, Social Security, Retirement Income Security, Wealth Inequality and Asset Development, Financial Institutions, International Economic Development

Lecturers

Carolyn Arcand
Lecturer in Public Affairs, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6938
carolynarcand@gmail.com

Women’s Issues, Health Care Policy, Environmental Policy, Economic Development

Rocío Sánchez Ares
Lecturer; Gender, Leadership, and Public Policy; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6785
sanchezares@gmail.com

Immigrant women, Leadership, Policy, Collaboration

Arthur Bowes
Senior Lecturer II in Management, College of Management

617.763.6736
Arthur.bowes@umb.edu

Human Resource Management, Labor Relations, Health Care Management

Kathy Fallon
Lecturer in Public Affairs, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6938
kfallon@pcgus.com

Public Budgeting

Ellen Frank
Lecturer I in Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6974
ellen.frank@umb.edu

Macroeconomic Policy, Financial Institutions, State and Local Fiscal Issues, Retirement Security, Austerity Policies

Emily Hardt
Lecturer, Gender, Leadership, & Public Policy, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6785
Emily.Hardt@umb.edu

Social Movements, Feminist Studies, Climate Justice

Frank F. Herron
Lecturer in Communication, College of Liberal Arts

617-287-6770
frank.herron@umb.edu

Political Science, Communication Studies

Susan Jeghelian
Executive Director, Massachusetts Office of Public Collaboration, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.4047
susan.jeghelian@umb.edu

Cathy Judd-Stein
Lecturer of Public Affairs, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6938
cjuddstein@yahoo.com

Government, government ethics, child welfare

John McGah
Lecturer in Public Affairs, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5532
john.mcgah@umb.edu

Madhawa Palihapitiya
Associate Director, Massachusetts Office of Public Collaboration, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.4036
madhawa.palihapitiya@umb.edu

Sandy Pooler
Lecturer in Public Affairs, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6938
Sandy.Pooler@umb.edu

Elena Stone
Lecturer, Gender, Leadership, and Public Policy

617.285.2747
Elena.Stone@umb.edu

Women's leadership, human rights, arts and culture

Felicia Sullivan
Lecturer, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.627.3077
Felicia.Sullivan@Tufts.edu

Public Policy, Community Arts, Social Media

Tim Sullivan
Lecturer in Public Affairs, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6938
tsullivan@masshousing.com

Tracy Wallach
Lecturer, Gender, Leadership, and Public Policy Graduate Certificate Program

617.566.0070
Tracy.Wallach@umb.edu

Group and organizational behavior, leadership, group relations (systems psycho-dynamics), organizational development, conflict resolution, ethics.

Michael Ward
Lecturer of Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.4876
michael.ward@umb.edu

Hsin-Ching Wu
Lecturer in Public Affairs, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6938
HsinChing.Wu001@umb.edu

Robert Zarnetske
Lecturer in Public Affairs, Department of Public Policy and Public Affairs, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.6938
Robert.Zarnetske001@umb.edu

Affiliated Faculty

Randy Albelda
Graduate Program Director and Professor of Economics, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6963
Randy.Albelda@umb.edu

Public Policy, Economics of Taxation, Labor Economics, Political Economy of Gender and Race

Ann Bookman
Affiliated Faculty, McCormack Graduate School

617.287.5554
ann.bookman@umb.edu

Women’s issues, work-family balance, and community engagement

Francine Menashy
Associate Professor of Urban Education, Leadership, and Policy Studies, College of Education and Human Development

617.287.3163
Francine.Menashy@umb.edu



Edward Alan Miller
Professor, Department of Gerontology and Public Policy PhD Program; McCormack Graduate School

617.287.7313
edward.miller@umb.edu

Aging and Long-term Care, Intergovernmental Relations, Program Implementation and Evaluation, Medicaid, Telemedicine and e-health

Erin O’Brien
Associate Professor of Political Science, College of Liberal Arts

617.287.6939
erin.obrien@umb.edu

Public Policy; Politics of Poverty and U.S. Social Welfare Policy; Stratification, Politics, and Policy; Political Behavior; Urban Politics; Research Methods and Epistemology; American Politics

Christopher F. Zurn
Professor of Philosophy

617-287-6547
christopher.zurn@umb.edu

Social and political philosophy, philosophy of law, contemporary European philosophy