Centers & Institutes

Explore our work via this interactive map

Providing Innovative Research and Professional Services to Catalyze Change

Our faculty and research staff explore the complex issues that impact our global communities and provide evidence-based guidance and innovative solutions to policymakers, practitioners, and community leaders.

Our nationally and internationally known centers and institutes also provide students with opportunities for jobs, internships, and possible thesis or dissertation data.

Center for Governance and Sustainability

Linking analytical rigor and policy action in environmental, developmental, and sustainability governance globally through state-of-the-art research, interactive dialogue, and comprehensive training for innovative leadership.

Director: Maria Ivanova, PhD
Contact: 617.287.7263; maria.ivanova@umb.edu

Center for Peace, Democracy, and Development

Promoting conflict resolution, democracy, economic development, education building, media development, and legal and judicial reform through partnerships and training programs across the globe.

Executive Director: Darren Kew, PhD
Contact: 617.287.7428; darren.kew@umb.edu

Center for Rebuilding Sustainable Communities After Disasters

Offering professional training and providing expert advice and innovative research on various disaster-related topics.

Director: Adenrele Awotona, PhD
Contact: 617.287.7112; adenrele.awotona@umb.edu

Center for Social and Demographic Research on Aging

Providing demographic resources and research expertise to communities, non-governmental organizations, and other agencies that offer services to older adults in Massachusetts and throughout New England.

Director: Jan Mutchler, PhD
Contact: 617.287.7321; jan.mutchler@umb.edu

Center for Social Policy

Reshaping poverty policy by connecting research, evaluation, and communities with lived experiences in Boston and beyond.

Director: Susan R. Crandall, PhD
Contact: 617.287.5565; susan.crandall@umb.edu

Research Director: Françoise Carré, PhD
Contact: 617.287.5516; francoise.carre@umb.edu

Center for Women in Politics and Public Policy

Promoting women's political leadership through quality education and policy research.

Director: Ann Bookman, PhD
Contact: 617.287. 5554; ann.bookman@umb.edu

Research Director: Christa Kelleher, PhD
Contact: 617.287.5530; christa.kelleher@umb.edu

Edward J. Collins, Jr. Center for Public Management

Providing professional services to improve the efficiency and effectiveness of government.

Interim Director: Stephen McGoldrick, MSM
Contact: 617.287.4824; stephen.mcgoldrick@umb.edu   

Gerontology Institute

Conducting basic and applied social and economic research on productive aging, income security, demography, transportation, long-term services and supports, and life-long learning; offering services aimed at improving the experience of aging; providing editorial leadership for the Journal of Aging & Social Policy and Research on Aging.

Director: Len Fishman, JD
617.287.7327; len.fishman@umb.edu

Affiliated centers at the Gerontology Institute:

John Joseph Moakley Chair of Peace and Reconciliation

Addressing the tragic crisis of divided societies around the world, in large part, by reinforcing a commitment to nonviolent methods among all participants in the reconciliation process.

Moakley Chair: Padraig O'Malley
Contact: nancy.riordan@umb.edu

LeadingAge Center for Long-Term Services and Supports @UMass Boston

Bridging policy and practice to advance evidence-based research and innovation to move the health and long-term services and supports system to provide better value and care that is more responsive to consumer needs.

Director: Marc Cohen, PhD
Contact: 617.287.7306; marc.cohen@umb.edu

  • LeadingAge LTSS Center @UMass Boston website forthcoming.

Massachusetts Office of Public Collaboration

Facilitating collaboration and building capacity for conflict resolution and consensus building with government and across state sectors.

Executive Director: Susan Jeghelian, JD
Contact: 617.287.4047; susan.jeghelian@umb.edu

Associate Director: Madhawa Palihapitiya, MA
Contact: 617.287.4036; madhawa.palihapitiya@umb.edu

Osher Lifelong Learning Institute (OLLI)

Enriching the intellectual, social, and cultural lives of adults aged 50 and over who share a love of lifelong learning.

Director: James (Jim) Hermelbracht
617.287. 7090; james.hermelbracht@umb.edu

Pension Action Center

Conducting research on pension policy and offering assistance and referrals to individuals having trouble understanding or accessing their pension benefits.

Director and Managing Attorney: Jeanne M. Medeiros, JD
Contact: 617.287.7332; jeanne.medeiros@umb.edu

Sustainable Solutions Lab

Developing, testing, and implementing environmentally sound, economically sustainable, and socially just solutions to the complex impacts of climate change on human and natural systems. 

Research Fellow: Rebecca Herst
Contact: rebecca.herst@umb.edu